Event title:

PGR Writing Group - Thursday (online)

Event details

Event details

Dates & Times:
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 6th January 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 13th January 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 20th January 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 27th January 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 3rd February 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 10th February 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 17th February 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 24th February 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 3rd March 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 10th March 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 17th March 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 24th March 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 31st March 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 7th April 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 14th April 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 21st April 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 28th April 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 5th May 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 12th May 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 19th May 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 26th May 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 2nd June 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 9th June 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 16th June 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 23rd June 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 30th June 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 7th July 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 14th July 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 21st July 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 28th July 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 4th August 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 11th August 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 18th August 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 25th August 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 1st September 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 8th September 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 15th September 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 22nd September 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 29th September 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 6th October 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 13th October 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 20th October 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 27th October 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 3rd November 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 10th November 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 17th November 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 24th November 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 1st December 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 8th December 2022
19:00 - 21:00, Thursday, 15th December 2022
Campus:
Online
Categories:
  Don't Talk Write! - PGR Writing Group  

Event description

Event description

"The best way to get something done is to begin!"

We all suffer from putting things off, and, whatever stage you are at with your thesis writing, we know that many of you feel this way about "writing up". So, in direct response to your feedback asking for support in making progress with your academic writing, the Doctoral College runs the Postgraduate Writing Support Group.

So, what's it all about? Developed in direct response to student concerns and comments about making progress with their writing, the group provides a "quiet space" for postgraduate students to focus and make progress with their writing. There is a facilitator throughout who starts things off and provides support during the session, but in principle, it is for students to come with a set goal for their writing and to get on with it.

A typical session consists of:

  • 15 minute presentation/exercise by the facilitator on a specific writing issue, or general chat amongst the group
  • 5 minute goal setting for the session.
  • 90 minute writing session.
  • 10 minute debrief on whether you achieved your writing goal.

What do I need to bring with me?

  • Come with an idea of what your writing objectives are for each session.
  • If you like to draft your writing long hand, you need pen and paper.
  • If you like to draft using a computer, then you need to bring your own device.
  • If you do a bit of both, then bring both!
  • Computers are not provided.

Important points to note: 

  • We will start promptly so don't be late.
  • Once the silent writing session has started - 20 minutes in - please do not disturb the group. Don't worry you can leave if you want to!
  • Please do not talk during the silent session.
  • If you need a toilet break during the silent session, leave the room quietly. 

Registration

Registration

Registration is required. There are 39 seats available.