Event title:

Monday Peer-Led Writing Group

Event details

Event details

Dates & Times:
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 1st February 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 8th February 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 15th February 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 22nd February 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 1st March 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 8th March 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 15th March 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 22nd March 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 29th March 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 5th April 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 12th April 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 19th April 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 26th April 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 3rd May 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 10th May 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 17th May 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 24th May 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 31st May 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 7th June 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 14th June 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 21st June 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 28th June 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 5th July 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 12th July 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 19th July 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 26th July 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 2nd August 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 9th August 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 16th August 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 23rd August 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 30th August 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 6th September 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 13th September 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 20th September 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 27th September 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 4th October 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 11th October 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 18th October 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 25th October 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 1st November 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 8th November 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 15th November 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 22nd November 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 29th November 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 6th December 2021
14:00 - 16:00, Monday, 13th December 2021
Categories:
  Don't Talk Write! - PGR Writing Group  

Event description

Event description

"The best way to get something done is to begin!"

We all suffer from putting things off, and, whatever stage you are at with your thesis writing, we know that many of you feel this way about "writing up". So, in direct response to your feedback asking for support in making progress with your academic writing, the Doctor College runs the Postgraduate Writing Support Group.

So, what's it all about? Developed in direct response to student concerns and comments about making progress with their writing, the group provides a "quiet space" for postgraduate students to focus and make progress with their writing. There is a facilitator throughout who starts things off and provides support during the session, but in principle, it is for students to come with a set goal for their writing and to get on with it.

A typical session consists of:

  • 15 minute presentation/exercise by the facilitator on a specific writing issue.
  • 5 minute goal setting for the session.
  • 90 minute writing session.
  • 10 minute debrief on whether you achieved your writing goal.

What do I need to bring with me?

  • Come with an idea of what your writing objectives are for each session.
  • If you like to draft your writing long hand, you need pen and paper.
  • If you like to draft using a computer, then you need to bring your own device.
  • If you do a bit of both, then bring both!
  • Computers are not provided.

Important points to note: 

  • We will start promptly so don't be late.
  • Once the silent writing session has started - 20 minutes in - please do not disturb the group. Don't worry you can leave if you want to!
  • Please do not talk during the silent session.
  • If you need a toilet break during the silent session, leave the room quietly. 

The PowerPoints for presentations and additional exercise handouts that have been covered can be accessed on the Doctoral College's Canvas site. This is a topical up-to-date support group, so please feel free to request a writing topic to be covered in the next session. Please email J.Hatter@hull.ac.uk for this.

Registration

Registration

Registration is required. There are 161 seats available.