Event title:

Tuesday Peer-Led Writing Group

Event details

Event details

Dates & Times:
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 5th January 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 12th January 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 19th January 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 2nd February 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 9th February 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 16th February 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 23rd February 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 2nd March 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 9th March 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 16th March 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 23rd March 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 30th March 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 6th April 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 13th April 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 20th April 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 27th April 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 4th May 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 11th May 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 18th May 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 25th May 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 1st June 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 8th June 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 15th June 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 22nd June 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 29th June 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 6th July 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 13th July 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 20th July 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 27th July 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 3rd August 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 10th August 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 17th August 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 24th August 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 31st August 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 7th September 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 14th September 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 21st September 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 28th September 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 5th October 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 12th October 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 19th October 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 26th October 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 2nd November 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 9th November 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 16th November 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 23rd November 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 30th November 2021
13:00 - 15:00, Tuesday, 7th December 2021
Categories:
  Don't Talk Write! - PGR Writing Group  

Event description

Event description

"The best way to get something done is to begin!"

We all suffer from putting things off, and, whatever stage you are at with your thesis writing, we know that many of you feel this way about "writing up". So, in direct response to your feedback asking for support in making progress with your academic writing, the Doctor College runs the Postgraduate Writing Support Group.

So, what's it all about? Developed in direct response to student concerns and comments about making progress with their writing, the group provides a "quiet space" for postgraduate students to focus and make progress with their writing. There is a facilitator throughout who starts things off and provides support during the session, but in principle, it is for students to come with a set goal for their writing and to get on with it.

A typical session consists of:

  • 15 minute chat to eafch other about how things are going
  • 5 minute goal setting for the session.
  • 90 minute writing session.
  • 10 minute debrief on whether you achieved your writing goal.

What do I need to bring with me?

  • Come with an idea of what your writing objectives are for each session.
  • If you like to draft your writing long hand, you need pen and paper.
  • If you like to draft using a computer, then you need to bring your own device.
  • If you do a bit of both, then bring both!
  • Computers are not provided.

Important points to note: 

  • We will start promptly so don't be late.
  • Once the silent writing session has started - 20 minutes in - please do not disturb the group. Don't worry you can leave if you want to!
  • Please do not talk during the silent session.
  • If you need a toilet break during the silent session, leave the room quietly. 

The PowerPoints for presentations and additional exercise handouts that have been covered can be accessed on the Doctoral College's Canvas site. 

Registration

Registration

Registration is required. There are 200 seats available.